Dolly Parton Releases First Single from Rock Album

We’re already pumped about Rockstar, Dolly Parton‘s forthcoming rock album, and now, she has released the first song from that record, “World On Fire.”

It’s no secret that Dolly has been making headlines lately with her bold opposition to the anti-trans and anti-drag laws in her home state of Tennessee, no doubt pissing off the very people who claim to love country music the most. Now it appears she’s taking a break from that genre to make some rock.

The song is called “World On Fire,” an acoustic epic. It’s from the 30-song epic album Rockstar, releasing this November, which will feature guest appearances from Steven Tyler, Elton John, Sting, Steve Perry, Ann Wilson, John Fogerty, Kid Rock, Stevie Nicks, Mick Fleetwood, Peter Frampton, Nikki Sixx, John 5, Rob Halford, Pat Benatar, Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr, and three members of Lynyrd Skynyrd.

As is to be expected, this album is already getting political with the lyrics revealed on this track:

“Don’t get me started on politics. Now how are we to live in a world like this? / Greedy politicians, present and past / They wouldn’t know the truth if it bit ‘em in the ass.

“Billy got a gun, Joey got a knife / Janey got a sign to carry in the fight / Marching in the streets with sticks and stones / Don’t you ever believe words don’t break bones.”

She says about the song:

“I think it speaks about everything and to everyone this day and time. I hope it is something that will touch you and maybe touch enough people to want to make a change for the better.”

Check out Parton performing the song live at the Academy of Country Music Awards at the Ford Center at The Star in Frisco, Texas.

[embedded content]

In case you needed a reminder, here’s the track list and all the special guests who will appear on it:

1. Rockstar (with special guest Richie Sambora)
2. World on Fire
3. Every Breath You Take (feat. Sting)
4. Open Arms (feat. Steve Perry)
5. Magic Man (feat. Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Lee)
6. Long As I Can See The Light (feat. John Fogerty)
7. Either Or (feat. Kid Rock)
8. I Want You Back (feat. Steven Tyler & special guest Warren Haynes)
9. What Has Rock And Roll Ever Done For You (feat. Stevie Nicks & special guest Waddy Wachtel)
10. Purple Rain
11. Baby, I Love Your Way (feat. Peter Frampton)
12. I Hate Myself For Loving You (feat. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)
13. Night Moves (feat. Chris Stapleton)
14. Wrecking Ball (feat. Miley Cyrus)
15. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction (feat. P!nk & Brandi Carlile)
16. Keep On Loving You (feat. Kevin Cronin)
17. Heart Of Glass (feat. Debbie Harry)
18. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me (feat. Elton John)
19. Tried To Rock And Roll Me (feat. Melissa Etheridge)
20. Stairway To Heaven (feat. Lizzo & Sasha Flute)
21. We Are The Champions
22. Bygones (feat. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5)
23. My Blue Tears (feat. Simon Le Bon)
24. What’s Up? (feat. Linda Perry)
25. You’re No Good (feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)
26. Heartbreaker (feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)
27. Bittersweet (feat. Michael McDonald)
28. I Dreamed About Elvis (feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires)
29. Let It Be (feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)
30. Free Bird (feat. Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.